Creating great things together

Team

Dipl.-Ing.

Stephan Freischem

Dipl.-Phys. Dr. rer. nat.

Martin Tongbhoyai

Dipl.-Ing. Dipl.-Kfm.

Thomas Buchenau

Dipl.-Ing. Dr.-Ing.

Hans-Martin Helwig

Dipl.-Ing.

Stephan Freischem

European Patent, Trademark and Design Attorney

Stephan Freischem studied Mechanical Engineering at the Rheinisch-Westfälischen Technical University in Aachen, specializing in the area of combustion engine technology, particularly in computer applications and software development for engine control systems and complex vehicle simulations.

He has been trained as a patent attorney in Cologne, Berlin and Munich. He represents German and international clients in patent, trademark and design matters, including licensing negotiations and infringement cases, in various technical areas.

He specializes in the areas of computer hardware and software, including the protection of software and Internet applications through domestic and foreign patents. Further, he represents companies in the fields of general mechanical engineering, civil construction and medical technology.

Stephan Freischem is a Member of the International Association for the Protection of Intellectual Property (AIPPI). Moreover, he is a member of the Committee for Digital Technology of the German Chamber of Patent Attorney and of AIPPI’s Standing Committee on Information Technology and Internet. He served as Secretary General of AIPPI from 2010 to 2014. Since 2015 he is Secretary General of the German Association for the Protection of Intellectual Property (GRUR).

Further Memberships: The Institute of Professional Representatives before the European Patent Office (EPI), and the International Federation of Intellectual Property Attorneys (FICPI).

Business card

Languages:

German, English, French

Telephone:
Fax:
Email:

Dipl.-Phys. Dr. rer. nat.

Martin Tongbhoyai

European Patent, Trademark and Design Attorney

Martin Tongbhoyai studied physics at the University of Bonn and graduated in 1994. During his studies, he was particularly involved in solid-state physics, applied medical technology and computer technology. From 1994 to 1997 he was a research associate at the University of Bonn and received his doctorate in 1997. His doctoral thesis dealt with the development of a new device for non-destructive material testing. He completed his training as a patent attorney in Berlin and Munich and joined FREISCHEM & PARTNER in 2000 after several months of internship with patent attorneys in the USA.

Dr. Martin Tongbhoyai handles all aspects of commercial intellectual property law. In the area of patent law he specializes in the fields of telecommunications, automotive technology, optics, medical devices and construction. In addition, he represents clients in trademark application proceedings as well as patent and trademark infringement cases. Moreover, he assists clients in developing licensing strategies and drafts licensing agreements.

Dr. Martin Tongbhoyai is a member of the board of directors of the Federal Association of German Patent Attorneys. He served as president of the Federal Association of German Patent Attorneys from 2013 to 2019.

Mitgliedschaften: Patentanwaltskammer, EPI, Bundesverband deutscher Patentanwälte, GRUR, INTA, AIPPI und FICPI.

Business card

Languages:

German, English

Telephone:
Fax:
Email:

Dipl.-Ing. Dipl.-Kfm.

Thomas Buchenau

European Patent, Trademark and Design Attorney

Thomas Buchenau studied mechanical engineering and business administration at the Rheinisch-Westfälische Technische Hochschule (RWTH) in Aachen. His mechanical engineering studies focused on the field of automotive engineering, while his business administration studies deepened his knowledge of operations research and controlling. After completing his studies, he trained as a patent attorney in Cologne, Frankfurt and Munich before joining FREISCHEM & PARTNER in 2007.

Thomas Buchenau has been dealing with all aspects of intellectual property law as a patent attorney for more than 15 years. In particular, he represents domestic and foreign clients in matters of patent, trademark, utility model and design law. He also advises on matters concerning the Employee-Invention Act (Arbeitnehmererfindergesetz) and maps out strategies and contracts for joint developments and licenses.

Regular activities include the preparation, filing and representation of applications for protective rights (patents, utility models, trademarks, designs) before the competent offices (DPMA, EPO, WIPO, EUIPO) as well as the enforcement of such protective rights against competitors. Another focus is direted to the observation of third party intellectual property rights and to taking action against interfering property rights of competitors. For this purpose, opposition, cancellation and nullity proceedings are initiated and conducted before the competent offices or courts, if appropriate.

Mr. Buchenau advises and represents individuals, small and medium-sized companies, and large corporations, taking into account the resources and goals available in each case.

Memberships: the Chamber of Patent Attorneys, EPI, Federal Association of German Patent Attorneys, GRUR, AIPPI and FICPI.

Business card

Languages:

German, English

Telephone:
Fax:
Email:

Dipl.-Ing. Dr.-Ing.

Hans-Martin Helwig

European Patent, Trademark and Design Attorney

Dr. Hans-Martin Helwig read chemical engineering at the University of Karlsruhe (Technical University), focusing, on one hand, on the application of mechanical process engineering in chemistry and, on the other hand, on the technology of renewable and fossil fuels. After obtaining his honours degree, he engaged in intensive research activities at the Technical University of Berlin and at the Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin für Materialien und Energie. He concluded his scientific career with a degree as a Dr.-Ing. (Doctor of Science [Engineering]) in the field of applied material research.

He completed his training as a patent attorney in Bielefeld and Munich. In 2013, he was admitted as a German patent attorney and as a representative before the European Patent Office. He was a partner in his former training firm in Bielefeld for several years before joining FREISCHEM & PARTNER.

Since his admission to the bar, he has worked for domestic and foreign clients in patent, trademark, utility model and design matters, cases related to employee invention law and the negotiation of contracts. As a Patent Attorney, he has focused, among others, on assisting small and medium-sized companies, counselling them comprehensively in all fields of industrial property.

Dr. Hans-Martin Helwig is a member of the Chamber of Patent Attorneys, the EPI, the FICPI, the AIPPI, the GRUR and the Federal Association of German Patent Attorneys. He is the author of publications in specialist journals and volunteers for the further development of commercial legal protection. He was a member of Examination Committee III of the European Patent Office for the European proficiency test, a member of the board and from 2019 to 2021 President of the Federal Association of German Patent Attorneys. Since 2022 he has been a member of the board of directors of the Chamber of Patent Attorneys.

Business card

Languages:

German, English

Telephone:
Fax:
Email:

Stellen Sie Ihre Anfrage

Bitte nutzen Sie das rechts stehenden Kontaktformular. Weitere Formen der Kontaktaufnahme finden Sie hier.

Vacancies

At the moment we are not actively looking for additional employees (m/f/d). However, if you are interested in a position in our law firm, we look forward to receiving your unsolicited application. In this case, please send your informative application documents (cover letter, curriculum vitae, certificates) by email to thomas.buchenau@freischem.eu.

Gemeinsam Großes schaffen

Team

Dipl.-Ing.

Stephan Freischem

Dipl.-Phys. Dr. rer. nat.

Martin Tongbhoyai

Dipl.-Ing. Dipl.-Kfm.

Thomas Buchenau

Dipl.-Ing. Dr.-Ing.

Hans-Martin Helwig

Dipl.-Ing.

Stephan Freischem

European Patent, Trademark and Design Attorney

Stephan Freischem studierte Maschinenbau an der Rheinisch-Westfälischen Technischen Hochschule in Aachen mit Schwerpunkt auf dem Gebiet der Motorentechnik, insbesondere Computeranwendungen und Softwareentwicklung für Motorsteuerungen und komplexe Fahrzeugsimulationen.

Er absolvierte seine Ausbildung zum Patentanwalt in Köln, Berlin und München. Er betreut Patent-, Marken- und Designangelegenheiten – einschließlich Lizenzverhandlungen und Verletzungsstreitigkeiten – für inländische und ausländische Mandanten in verschiedenen technischen Bereichen.

Er ist spezialisiert im Bereich der Computer-Hardware und -Software, einschließlich des Schutzes von Software und Internetanwendungen durch Patente im In- und Ausland. Ferner vertritt er Unternehmen des allgemeinen Maschinenbaus, der Bautechnik und der Medizintechnik.

Stephan Freischem ist Mitglied des Ausschusses für Digitaltechnologie der Patentanwaltsammer und des ständigen Ausschusses “Information Technology and Internet” der Internationalen Vereinigung für den Schutz des Geistigen Eigentums AIPPI. Im Zeitraum von 2010-2014 war er Generalsekretär und seit 2015 ist er Ehrenmitglied der AIPPI. Seit 2015 ist er Generalsekretär der Deutschen Vereinigung für Gewerblichen Rechtsschutz und Urheberrecht GRUR.

Weitere Mitgliedschaften: EPI, Bundesverband deutscher Patentanwälte und FICPI.

Visitenkarte

Sprachen:

Deutsch, Englisch, Französisch

Telefon:
Fax:
E-Mail:

Dipl.-Phys. Dr. rer. nat.

Martin Tongbhoyai

European Patent, Trademark and Design Attorney

Martin Tongbhoyai studierte Physik an der Universität Bonn und beendete sein Studium 1994 als Diplom-Physiker. Während seines Studiums beschäftigte er sich insbesondere mit der Festkörperphysik, der angewandten Medizintechnik und der Computertechnologie. Von 1994 bis 1997 war er wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter der Universität Bonn und wurde 1997 promoviert. Seine Doktorarbeit befasste sich mit der Entwicklung eines neuen Gerätes zur zerstörungsfreien Materialprüfung. Er absolvierte seine Ausbildung zum Patentanwalt in Berlin und München und trat im Jahr 2000 nach einem mehrmonatigen Praktikum bei Patentanwälten in den USA in die Kanzlei FREISCHEM & PARTNER ein.

Dr. Martin Tongbhoyai befasst sich mit allen Aspekten des gewerblichen Rechtsschutzes. Im Bereich des Patentrechts ist er spezialisiert auf dem Gebiet der Telekommunikationstechnik, der Fahrzeugtechnik, der Optik, der Bautechnik und der Medizintechnik. Ferner ist er in Markenanmeldeverfahren sowie Patent- und Markenverletzungsverfahren tätig. Darüber hinaus erarbeitet er für unsere Mandanten Lizenzstrategien und Lizenzverträge.

Dr. Martin Tongbhoyai ist seit vielen Jahren Mitglied des Vorstands des Bundesverbandes Deutscher Patentanwälte. Von 2013 bis 2019 war er Präsident des Bundesverbandes Deutscher Patentanwälte (BDPA). Ferner vertritt er den BDPA im Beirat der Deutschen Anwalts- und Notarversicherung (DANV).

Mitgliedschaften: Patentanwaltskammer, EPI, Bundesverband deutscher Patentanwälte, GRUR, INTA, AIPPI und FICPI.

Visitenkarte

Sprachen:

Deutsch, Englisch

Telefon:
Fax:
E-Mail:

Dipl.-Ing. Dipl.-Kfm.

Thomas Buchenau

European Patent, Trademark and Design Attorney

Thomas Buchenau studierte Maschinenbau und Betriebswirtschaftslehre an der Rheinisch-Westfälischen Technischen Hochschule (RWTH) in Aachen. Sein Schwerpunkt im Maschinenbaustudium lag auf dem Gebiet der Fahrzeugtechnik, das BWL-Studium vertiefte er in Operations Research und Controlling. Nach Abschluss des Studiums absolvierte er seine Ausbildung zum Patentanwalt in Köln, Frankfurt und München, bevor er im Jahr 2007 in die Kanzlei FREISCHEM & PARTNER eintrat.

Thomas Buchenau befasst sich als Patentanwalt seit mehr als 15 Jahren mit allen Aspekten des gewerblichen Rechtsschutzes. Insbesondere vertritt er inländische und ausländische Mandanten in Angelegenheiten des Patent-, Marken-, Gebrauchs­muster- und Designrechts (Geschmacksmusterrechts). Er berät ferner in Angele­genheiten des Arbeitnehmererfinderrechts und erarbeitet Strategien und Verträge für Gemeinschaftsentwicklungen und Lizenzen.

Zu den regelmäßig anfallenden Tätigkeiten zählen nicht nur die Ausarbeitung, Einreichung und Vertretung von Schutzrechtsanmeldungen (Patente, Gebrauchs­muster, Marken, Designs/Geschmacksmuster) vor den zuständigen Ämtern (DPMA, EPA, WIPO, EUIPO), sondern auch die Durchsetzung dieser Schutzrechte gegenüber Wettbewerbern. Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt der Tätigkeiten liegt in der Beobachtung von Schutzrechten Dritter gemeinsam mit den Mandanten und im Angriff störender Schutzrechte von Wettbewerbern. Dazu werden bei Bedarf Einspruchs-, Widerspruchs-, Löschungs- und Nichtigkeitsverfahren vor den zuständigen Ämtern oder Gerichten eingeleitet und geführt.

Herr Buchenau berät und vertritt Einzelpersonen, kleine und mittelständische Unternehmen sowie Großkonzerne unter Berücksichtigung der jeweils vorhandenen Ressourcen und Ziele.

Mitgliedschaften: Patentanwaltskammer, EPI, Bundesverband deutscher Patentanwälte, GRUR, AIPPI und FICPI.

Visitenkarte

Sprachen:

Deutsch, Englisch

Telefon:
Fax:
E-Mail:

Dipl.-Ing. Dr.-Ing.

Hans-Martin Helwig

European Patent, Trademark and Design Attorney

Dr. Hans-Martin Helwig studierte Chemieingenieurwesen an der Universität Karlsruhe (TH), dem heutigen KIT, mit den Schwerpunkten mechanische Verfahrenstechnik und Chemie und Technik erneuerbarer und fossiler Brennstoffe. Nach dem Diplomstudium promovierte er an der technischen Universität Berlin und dem Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin für Materialien und Energie zum Dr.-ing. auf dem Gebiet der angewandten Materialforschung.

Er absolvierte die Ausbildung zum Patentanwalt in Bielefeld und München. 2013 erfolgte seine Zulassung zum deutschen Patentanwalt und zum Vertreter vor dem Europäischen Patentamt. Er gehörte seiner ehemaligen Ausbildungskanzlei in Bielefeld einige Jahre als Partner an, bevor er in die Kanzlei FREISCHEM & PARTNER eintrat.

Seit seiner Zulassung vertritt er inländische und ausländische Mandanten in Angelegenheiten des gewerblichen Rechtschutzes. Einen Schwerpunkt seiner patentanwaltlichen Tätigkeit bildet hierbei die Betreuung inländischer mittelständischer Unternehmen im Patent-, Marken- und Designrecht.

Dr. Hans-Martin Helwig ist Mitglied in der Patentanwaltskammer, dem EPI, der FICPI, der AIPPI, der GRUR und des Bundesverbands Deutscher Patentanwälte. Er ist Autor von Veröffentlichungen in Fachzeitschriften und engagiert sich ehrenamtlich für die Fortentwicklung des gewerblichen Rechtschutzes. So war er Mitglied des Prüfungsausschusses III des Europäischen Patentamtes für die Europäische Eignungsprüfung, Mitglied des Vorstandes sowie von 2019 bis 2021 Präsident des Bundesverbands deutscher Patentanwälte. Seit 2022 ist er Mitglied im Vorstand der Patentanwaltskammer.

Visitenkarte

Sprachen:

Deutsch, Englisch

Telefon:
Fax:
E-Mail:

Stellen Sie Ihre Anfrage

Bitte nutzen Sie das rechts stehenden Kontaktformular. Weitere Formen der Kontaktaufnahme finden Sie hier.

Offene Stellen

Zur Zeit suchen wir nicht aktiv nach weiteren Mitarbeitern (m/w/d). Sollten Sie aber Interesse an einer Position in unserer Kanzlei haben, freuen wir uns auf Ihre Initiativbewerbung. Bitte senden Sie in diesem Falle Ihre aussagekräftigen Bewerbungsunterlagen (Anschreiben, Lebenslauf, Zeugnisse) per E-Mail an thomas.buchenau@freischem.eu.